The Twyford Code

£8.99

Forty years ago, Steve Smith found a copy of a famous children’s book by disgraced author Edith Twyford, its margins full of strange markings and annotations. Wanting to know more, he took it to his English teacher Miss Isles, not realising the chain of events that he was setting in motion. Miss Iles became convinced that the book was the key to solving a puzzle, and that a message in secret code ran through all Twyford’s novels. Then Miss Iles disappeared on a class field trip, and Steve’s memory won’t allow him to remember what happened. Now, out of prison after a long stretch, Steve decides to investigate the mystery that has haunted him for decades. Was Miss Iles murdered? Was she deluded? Or was she right about the code? And is it still in use today?

In stock

One copy is currently available in store.
This title can be ordered for collection in store or for home delivery.
If you require more copies than we have available in the shop we can order these for you – this usually just takes a day or two, but we will confirm the expected timeframe when an order is placed.

SKU: 9781788165334 Categories: , , Tags: , Publisher/imprint : Viper
Page count : 392
Published on 21st July, 2022

Description

THE PHENOMENAL NEW BESTSELLER FROM THE QUEEN OF COSY CRIMECan you crack the Twyford Code?’Every page is a joy. The queen of unreliable narrators’ SUNDAY TIMES’Brilliant – a heartwarming mystery not to be missed’ OBSERVER Edith Twyford was once a world-famous children’s author, but now her only legacy is the rumoured existence of the Twyford Code: a series of clues hidden in her books leading to… what? No one knows – but that hasn’t stopped the speculation.Steve Smith can trace nearly all the bad things in his life back to Edith Twyford. As a child he found one of her books, covered in strange symbols. He showed it to his teacher, Miss Iles, who was convinced it held the key to the code. Within weeks Miss Iles had disappeared, and Steve has no idea if she is dead or alive – or if she was right. Now he’s determined to find out.But the Twyford Code hides secrets some would do anything to possess, and Steve isn’t the only one on its trail. The race is on to solve the mystery of the century. Could you get there first?The cosy crime sensation of the summer from the author of The Appeal, perfect for fans of Richard Osman and S. J. Bennett. ‘Every page is a joy, and the startling final reveal crowns Hallett as the queen of unreliable narrators’ SUNDAY TIMES’A tour de force… A mind-bending, heartwarming mystery that is not to be missed’ OBSERVER’Enid Blyton meets Agatha Christie with a cracking twist. Witty and wonderful’ MARION TODD’Wonderful. Ingenious and wholly satisfying’ BRIAN MCGILLOWAY’Golden Age Christie-esque puzzle meets The Usual Suspects. Outstanding. Unlike anything you’ll ever read’ IMRAN MAHMOOD’A brilliantly clever, deceptive mystery with a unique twist’ HEAT

Additional information

Weight 0.32 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.8 × 2.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Pages

Language

Edition

Dewey

Readership